Cross and Flame - Christ (cross) and the Holy Spirit (flame).


Wheatland UMC Historical Marker

Texas Historic Site
Serving the Community Since 1847

Wheatland United Methodist Church has served the southwest Dallas County area including Oak Cliff, DeSoto, Duncanville, Cedar Hill, Lancaster, Red Oak, and Ovilla for over 150 years.

Founded in 1847 the church was moved to its current location in 1859 and has continually served the community ever since.

On the Texas historic registry, Wheatland UMC was the first church established in our area and continues in its mission to this day because of the dedicated work of our pastorate and members.

Dallas County Pioneer Assoc.

Fred Harrington’s History Presentation

Recipes from 1973

Sam Street’s 1900 Map of Dallas County

The Wesley Chapel

The Year 1947

Wheatland, Texas in the Handbook of Texas Online

Wheatland Methodist Church 150th Sesquicentennial booklet.

Wheatland Methodist Church 160th Anniversary Booklet

Wheatland Methodist Church 165th Anniversary Booklet

Wilma Simpson Letter